Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Brewing software  (Read 2262 times)

Offline tomcoll67@msn.com

• 1st Kit
Brewing software
« on: June 20, 2022, 12:38:22 pm »
I apologize for this topic if it is somewhere else, but I cannot find it. I am asking for suggestions about Brewing Software. What do people think the best ones are.
Thank you for your help as I am new to Brewing.

Offline brewthru

• Brewer
Re: Brewing software
« Reply #1 on: June 20, 2022, 01:07:23 pm »
I began with ProMash. Unfortunately, ProMash died years ago.

I tried BeerSmith. I was and still am impressed with BeerSmith (seems I learn something new all the time). Also Brad Smith is top rate. Have a question/concern, etc. Email him. He will reply.

I know there are others whom complain about brewing software. Please keep in mind the software is only as good as the information we supply. By this I mean, for example, malt specs and brewing equipment (where brewing equipment is more important for all grain).

Some will complain about "My OG was higher than the software predicted.". OK, were the malt specs correct?

Whatever software is picked, it will take a few brews to "dial in" the settings.

Hope this helps.

Offline Bob357

• Brewmaster
  • Consensus means nothing to me. I am who I am.
« Reply #2 on: June 20, 2022, 01:33:34 pm »
Been using BeerSmith since version 1.xx and tried many others. Nothing compares. Now you can get both the desk-top and web versions for as little as $14.95/year.
Beer is my bucket list,

Bob357
Fallon, NV

Offline BrewBama

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
« Reply #3 on: June 20, 2022, 01:51:29 pm »
I also use BeerSmith. I have looked at a few others but stuck with it.

Offline tommymorris

« Reply #4 on: June 20, 2022, 02:18:41 pm »
I think you can try BeerSmith, Grainfather, Brewfather, and Brewers Friend for free. They all have apps and all are good.

Offline waltsmalt

• Assistant Brewer