Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: My last two brews.....  (Read 1678 times)

Offline redrocker652002

• Brewmaster
My last two brews.....
« on: July 25, 2022, 09:02:38 am »
Greetings to all. I read a post about the brewer who had a rough patch on his last two brews and thought I would add my tale of woe. I am new to All Grain and have struggled a bit with the mash temps and OG numbers. But, the most frustrating part is the fermentation. My last two batches have been what were called APA and IPA. Both were not very difficult, not being much different than other recipes that have worked out ok. My problem these last two have been that, although fermentation has started and went the way all the others have, they have seemed to stop well before the FG has been reached. My last one, using BRY97, has stalled at 1.035 from an OG of 1.064 according to my Ispindel. This brew has been stuck for about two days, so I am still holding hope. Not sure why these last two have done this, as I have not changed anything I did in the first two all grain batches I did, but I just figured I would vent.

A side note, I checked my hydrometer by using room temp tap water and it was at 1.001, so I am pretty sure my hydrometer is good.  And the hydrometer and the Ispindel have had about the same readings, so I am ruling out technical issues with my measuring abilities.  LOL. 

Anyway, just thought I would vent a bit. 

Offline tommymorris

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
Re: My last two brews.....
« Reply #1 on: July 25, 2022, 09:10:40 am »
Do the beers taste wildly sweet?

Offline redrocker652002

• Brewmaster
« Reply #2 on: July 25, 2022, 09:17:44 am »
Do the beers taste wildly sweet?

I have not checked them yet.  Just got home from a golf weekend with some friends. 

Offline ynotbrusum

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
« Reply #3 on: July 25, 2022, 12:39:23 pm »