Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Pitch rate discrepency  (Read 728 times)

Offline Surfer801

• 1st Kit
Pitch rate discrepency
« on: August 30, 2022, 11:20:50 pm »
Hello all,

I am new to brewing (brewing my first batch Saturday). I have bought a quality setup and have done a fair amount of research to minimize mistakes on my first batch. While I still expect some trial and error, I'm trying to work out some bugs prior to brewing. While calculating my yeast pitch rate I used Imperial Yeasts yeast pitch calculator and compared it to Brewfather and found a significant difference.

I am brewing an amber for my first beer with a target OG of 1.052 with a FG of 1.014 and using Imperial yeast's Juice. Imperial Yeast's calculator calls for .9 packages of yeast while Brewfather calls for 1.6 packages. Not having prior experience, I don't understand how much this could affect the beer, but it seems like a 50%+ increase in yeast could make a considerable difference. Yeast pitch is one area that I still need to do some research so I'm sure there may be something misunderstanding or not accounting for. If anyone could shine some light on this I would be very grateful!

Offline 4dogbrewer

• Cellarman
Re: Pitch rate discrepency
« Reply #1 on: August 31, 2022, 05:42:10 am »
What is the best before date?

Offline Kevin

• Brewmaster
  • Great beer. Less work. More fun.
« Reply #2 on: August 31, 2022, 06:09:27 am »
Rule of thumb... if your OG is 1.060 or less you can pitch one pouch of Imperial yeast with no worries.

I have no experience with your software but from using Beersmith for several years I know that you need to enter the best-by date from the package when you enter the yeast into your recipe.
“He was a wise man who invented beer.”
- Plato

Offline Megary

• Senior Brewmaster
« Reply #3 on: August 31, 2022, 06:17:17 am »
5 gallon batch?

Offline Surfer801

• 1st Kit
« Reply #4 on: August 31, 2022, 07:37:12 am »