Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: How many fruits and solids should go to the wine/mead must?  (Read 1124 times)

Offline TheGC

• 1st Kit
How many fruits and solids should go to the wine/mead must?
« on: September 28, 2022, 10:15:46 pm »
Okay, Okay.
I'm really glad I found this forum. I can see a lot going on everywhere here and for sure I will take a look in everything I can :)
For now I got to say that I'm really new in mead/wine making, as I'm new here. So, if needed, please point me to the right section, as example.

Let's start.

I have certain trees on my yard since my childhood and we NEVER made anything with them rather than juice.
I decided that I will try to make a melomel out of them, and also a wine. Let's see what comes from it, right?
Then I plan to try to make both products out of a lot of fruits from my region that are basically unknown for the rest of the country.

Days ago I stepped on a subject that glued to my head: how many fruits do I add to my wine/mead must?
I've seen a lot of videos on youtube and I'm reading some books, but none of them gave me the answer yet.
They really make it look simple but I know it's not that easy.
For example, I can get the OG when I make a must with honey and water, then add the fruits. Problem comes from the fact that the fruits already have sugar, so it will interfere on the alcohol calculation.
Also, the solids of the fruits will also interfere while reding an hydrometer.

How can I solve this problem since not all of the fruits I want to give a try have their % of sugar known and all of them vary on the % of water/solids?

Offline joe_meadmaker

• Brewer
Re: How many fruits and solids should go to the wine/mead must?
« Reply #1 on: September 29, 2022, 08:19:59 pm »