Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Question about sharing homebrew  (Read 807 times)

Offline Maxqol

• 1st Kit
Question about sharing homebrew
« on: November 30, 2022, 01:47:31 am »
Hey folks, I wanna say first off thanks for all the great posts on here. I've gotten tons of answers and inspiration over my short tenure of homebrewing.

Question time:

How do you all go about sharing your brew? Or maybe how did you start?

I've been brewing for a few years, but have only occasionally shared extras with others. I mostly drink my own. I am the sole beer drinker in the house.

I just recently gave two friends each an assorted six pack to take home, which is the first time I've done that. I explained about leaving the sediment behind when pouring.

I wish I didn't have to go through that whole explanation because I get the feeling that people find it gross, as if I'm making sub par beer with floaties in it.

Before this gets jumped on by the kegging crowd... Kegs sound appealing but I enjoy the small footprint I have. I also already have a fermentation chamber stuffed into our limited space. I don't think I can convince my spouse to let me put a kegerator in just for my consumption.

Offline Kevin

• Brewmaster
  • Great beer. Less work. More fun.
Re: Question about sharing homebrew
« Reply #1 on: November 30, 2022, 06:02:06 am »
You should have no problems telling people about leaving sediment behind. It's just part of the mystique. Tell them it's the same with commercial beers that are unpasteurized. I keg all my batches and use a Tapcooler counter pressure filler to fill bottles when I want to share. After they taste one they never refuse another because it may have sediment in it.
“He was a wise man who invented beer.”
- Plato

Offline jeffy

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
  • Tampa, Fl
« Reply #2 on: November 30, 2022, 07:29:38 am »