Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: How to add ingredients minus O2 during closed transfer to secondary fermenter?  (Read 940 times)

Offline DillyDilly

• 1st Kit
Newbie here.  Pardon this if this has been asked already but I can't seem to perform a search specific to this topic.

I've been performing closed loop transfers from my primary fermenter (plastic bucket) to my 5gal corny keg using this method:

- fill corny keg full of sanitizer solution (Star Sans)
- attach C02 line to gas post
- attach ball lock drain tube to liquid post
- purge sanitizer into 6 gal bucket so now corny keg is empty (for the most part) and full of CO2 (in theory)
- release pressure from corny keg
- add ~3-5 psi C02 back into keg
- attach C02 "exhaust" line from keg to fermenter bucket blow off tube "Y" valve
- attach sanitized transfer line (with liquid ball lock disconnect) to bucket spigot (my fermenting bucket is higher than the keg so gravity helps also)
- open ball valve on C02 exhaust line to carefully "pressurize" my fermenter bucket.  I have 1 hand on the ball valve and my other on the keg pressure release valve while watching the top of the bucket lid (think of this like making love in a canoe  ;) )
- attach liquid line to liquid post and open spigot to begin the "pressurized" transfer