Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: dry malt extract  (Read 1561 times)

Offline michaelwalden

• 1st Kit
dry malt extract
« on: January 11, 2023, 08:32:49 am »
I have never used dry malt before, I'm looking for someone to give me some options for a recipe for a 2.5 gallons with a dry malt.
Thank you

Offline Steve Ruch

• Senior Brewmaster
Re: dry malt extract
« Reply #1 on: January 11, 2023, 08:41:45 am »
I have never used dry malt before, I'm looking for someone to give me some options for a recipe for a 2.5 gallons with a dry malt.
Thank you
Wheat beer? Pilsner? Pale ale? Saison? Porter?
I love to go swimmin'
with hairy old women

Offline Drewch

• Brewmaster
  • Just this guy, you know?
« Reply #2 on: January 11, 2023, 08:54:30 am »
Here's a SMaSH that worked well for me:

For 6.5 L

7.5 L RO water adjusted to a balanced mineral ratio

600g Amber DME

5 g Zamba at 30 min
10 g Zamba at 15 min
13 g Zamba at 5 min

Half a packet of BE-134

Normal ale fermentation
Carbonate to 2.5 vols or a bit higher

Makes a nice hoppy saison, comparable to Tank 7.
The Other Drew

Home fermentations since 2019.

Member at large of the Central Alabama Brewers Society and the League of Drews.

Offline denny

• Administrator
  • Retired with too much time on my hands
  • Noti OR [1991.4, 287.6deg] AR
    • Dennybrew
« Reply #3 on: January 11, 2023, 09:27:39 am »
What style? What OG?
Life begins at 60.....1.060, that is!

www.dennybrew.com

The best, sharpest, funniest, weirdest and most knowledgable minds in home brewing contribute on the AHA forum. - Alewyfe

"The whole problem with the world is that fools and fanatics are always so certain of themselves, and wiser people so full of doubts." - Bertrand Russell

Offline dmtaylor

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
  • Lord Idiot the Lazy
    • YEAST MASTER Perma-Living
« Reply #4 on: January 11, 2023, 11:19:39 am »