Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: I’m new to Brewing. Is the color of my wort supposed to look like this?  (Read 2023 times)

Offline rpfelder69

• 1st Kit

This is the color my wort just before the Diacetyl Rest.   I was not expecting it to be clear, but was not expecting it to be this hazy either.  Am I worrying too much?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline tommymorris

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)

This is the color my wort just before the Diacetyl Rest.   I was not expecting it to be clear, but was not expecting it to be this hazy either.  Am I worrying too much?

You’re worrying too much. It has yeast in it. It will clear in the bottle or keg. It will clear best when cold (don’t chill until after that diacetyl rest).

Offline dmtaylor

• Lord Idiot the Lazy
    • YEAST MASTER Perma-Living
It looks good.  Just needs more time.  It will clear up in another week or two or three.
Dave

The world will become a much more pleasant place to live when each and every one of us realizes that we are all idiots.

Offline fredthecat

• Senior Brewmaster
it will clear with time, and even if for whatever reason it doesn't... it is just hazy!

is this your first beer brewed?
what yeast did you use? some yeasts tend to be slower at clearing out than others

Offline denny

• Administrator
  • Retired with too much time on my hands
  • Noti OR [1991.4, 287.6deg] AR
    • Dennybrew
Why are you doing a diacetyl rest?
Life begins at 60.....1.060, that is!

www.dennybrew.com

The best, sharpest, funniest, weirdest and most knowledgable minds in home brewing contribute on the AHA forum. - Alewyfe

"The whole problem with the world is that fools and fanatics are always so certain of themselves, and wiser people so full of doubts." - Bertrand Russell

Offline rpfelder69

• 1st Kit
it will clear with time, and even if for whatever reason it doesn't... it is just hazy!