Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Just joined April 26, 2023  (Read 858 times)

Offline nvshooter2276

• Assistant Brewer
Just joined April 26, 2023
« on: April 26, 2023, 12:13:41 pm »
Hello, all. New member from the Reno, NV area. I'm entirely an extract brewer; don't have the time to go the all-grain route. Have joined this site in order to ask questions that would take a lot of time for me to find the answers on the web. My time is so limited because I am a truck driver and my employer keeps me much too busy for me to spend many hours over a bubbling kettle.

I began my homebrewing hobby in October 1990. Did it for about ten years, then set it aside for over twenty years. I don't know why I started again after so many years away-- I just have and have forgotten several things between bringing the water to a boil and capping the bottles.

I'm soon to do a seven-gallon batch of Amber. Will be using just over seven pounds of LME. Thinking about two ounces of Centennial (10.9% AA) for 60 minutes, 1½ ounces of Fuggles (5.1% AA) at 30 minutes and ¾ ounces of Tettnanger (4.5% AA) during the last ten minutes. Yeast will be one 11.5-gram packet of Fermentis US-05.

Would I need to pitch two packets of my chosen yeast because I'm using so much LME? I want to make sure the little buggers eat every last nanogram of sugar on their plates.

I'll be fermenting in a ten-gallon fermenter for wine. The fermenter has never before been used, so no lingering stains or flavors about which to be worried. Stage 1 will be 18 to 20 days.

Will do the secondary in the commonly used, six-gallon HDPE bucket. Stage 2 will be another 18 to 20 days.

Haven't as of yet decided to bulk prime or to use two carbo-drops in my one-liter bottles. That decision is still almost six weeks away. I worry I might get into a hurry and fail to drop the two carbo-drops into several bottles. Bulk priming would negate such a concern.