Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Fermentis #US-05  (Read 1901 times)

Offline KellerBrauer

• Brewmaster
  • Bottoms Up!
Fermentis #US-05
« on: July 10, 2023, 07:22:46 am »
This is my first time using this yeast (US-05).  It was a very slow to start — like 36 hours before any notable action.  I pitched 1 pkg., dry, in a 5 gallon batch at 1.065 SG.

Is slow starts normal for this yeast?  I’m use to 8-12 hour starts using starters.
Joliet, IL

All good things come to those who show patients and perseverance while maintaining a positive and progressive attitude. 😉

Offline Megary

• Senior Brewmaster
Re: Fermentis #US-05
« Reply #1 on: July 10, 2023, 07:46:58 am »
I haven't used 05 in a while, but it was always a reliably quick starter for me.  What temperature did you pitch at?

Online ynotbrusum

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
« Reply #2 on: July 10, 2023, 07:55:48 am »
Was the yeast past its expiration date?  While usually still quite usable, I have encountered slow starts with some dry yeast strains that are beyond the manufacturers expiration date assigned to the batch.
Hodge Garage Brewing: "Brew with a glad heart!"

Offline Iliff Ave

« Reply #3 on: July 10, 2023, 08:38:20 am »
I brewed yesterday. I pitched one packet of 05 into a 1.045 american wheat @70F with chest freezer set to 65F. About 16 hours later I am seeing airlock activity.
On Tap/Bottled: IPL, Adjunct Vienna, Golden Stout, Honey Lager
Fermenting: IPA
Up Next: mexi lager, Germerican pale ale

Offline denny

• Administrator
  • Retired with too much time on my hands
  • Noti OR [1991.4, 287.6deg] AR
    • Dennybrew
« Reply #4 on: July 10, 2023, 08:58:04 am »
I don't usually get slow starts with 05, but many report that they do. I wouldn't worry about it.
Life begins at 60.....1.060, that is!

www.dennybrew.com