Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: First Sour/Funky Beer - Tripel?  (Read 3579 times)

Offline thehorse

• Cellarman
First Sour/Funky Beer - Tripel?
« on: October 14, 2010, 03:56:37 pm »
I've never done a sour beer before, but was inspired at the GABF a couple of weeks ago. At quite a few breweries (don't remember which ones due to a few to many 1 oz pours), had soured tripels. One brewer in particular told me that they used their standard tripel and then soured it.

I listened to the Jolly Pumpkin, Can You Brew It shows and thought maybe I would take 5 gallons of my tripel and just pitch bret b and l and do it's thing?

Any thoughts or ideas? I'm sure many of you have done something like this
before.

Would there be enough residual sugars to sour it up if it finished around 1.008?

Offline 1vertical

• I spend way too much time on the AHA forum
  • Ozone Layer. Actual location
Re: First Sour/Funky Beer - Tripel?
« Reply #1 on: October 19, 2010, 10:58:34 pm »
well I must chime in here. I suggest that you just make your trippel and add
to secondary the dregs from some bottles of orval (if you like that flavor). The
brett in that beer is agressive and will do the job in short order.  That said,
be careful that the bret does not over take your brewery cause it can and will
given the opportunity.....you will have sour everything.
A fine is a tax for doing wrong. A tax is a fine for doing well.

Offline tygo

• Sterling, VA
« Reply #2 on: October 20, 2010, 07:55:27 am »
I currently have a strong golden ale that I mashed on the high side sitting in the secondary with Brett C.  SG after regular fermentation was 1.012 and it's down to 1.005 as of last night.  I expect it will continue to drop.  The sample tasted pretty good.  Definitely some brett character coming through.  I think I'm going to be happy with the level of sourness without adding any additional bugs but we'll see in another couple of months.