Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: There's a thin film on my sour beer  (Read 4530 times)

Offline pmallory

• Cellarman
There's a thin film on my sour beer
« on: October 24, 2010, 08:04:18 pm »
I have been fermenting my sour beer for two months now. I pitched dregs from Bam Biere Jolly Pumpkin along with another belgian yeast. I tasted and measured my beer a month ago and it tasted good, but could become more tart. The reading was at 1.010. Everything seemed good, and now it has a thin white film on top. I am about to taste and measure it again. Does anybody know if the film is normal or is this a bad sign? I have heard of beers being made from pitching dregs that start off great and age poorly because of other little microorganisms that eventually take over. Any ideas?

Offline tschmidlin

• I must live here
  • Redmond, WA
Re: There's a thin film on my sour beer
« Reply #1 on: October 24, 2010, 08:45:56 pm »
It's normal for a pellicle to form with certain kinds of souring microorganisms.  I wouldn't worry about it.  RDWHAHB.
Tom Schmidlin

Offline GrainSpiller

• 1st Kit
« Reply #2 on: October 24, 2010, 10:51:43 pm »
That's the Wild Yeast (Brettanomyces) in action.  They usually form a white film (pellicle) on top of the beer during secondary fermentation.  If you have an airlock attached to the fermenter, it won't produce much acetic acid (tartness) due to the lack of a aerobic (oxygen) free environment.  The white pellicle will not harm your beer whatsoever.  When it comes time to racking (preferably 6-8 months into secondary), just puncture a hole through the film and start siphoning.    ;D       

Offline hopfenundmalz

• Global Moderator
  • I must live here
  • Milford, MI
« Reply #3 on: October 25, 2010, 06:12:26 am »