Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Lagering temps.....  (Read 14841 times)

Offline oscarvan

• Senior Brewmaster
Lagering temps.....
« on: November 17, 2010, 07:53:25 pm »
Excuse the newbie...... But what is the range for lagering temps. Is it per the recipe? Or is there a standard range, specifically, what is the lower end......is 40ºF OK?
Wooden Shoe Brew Works (not a commercial operation) Bethlehem, PA
http://www.woodenshoemusic.com/WSBW/WSBW_All_grain_Setup.html
I brew WITH style..... not necessarily TO style.....

Offline bluesman

• I must live here
  • Delaware
Re: Lagering temps.....
« Reply #1 on: November 17, 2010, 08:29:33 pm »
Lagering is as close to freezing without freezing as you can get.

I like to lager my beer at 34F. I have a +-2 degree differential from my controller so I have to keep set at 34.
Ron Price

Offline Wheat_Brewer

• Assistant Brewer
  • Bad Bunny Brewing
« Reply #2 on: November 17, 2010, 08:31:08 pm »
40-50F are typical lagering temps, I've gone as low as 33F and been just fine.  Typically you want to get your lager yeast going at room temp for 24 hours (this can be debate and changed as needed, I've also just thrown lager yeast and put in the garage at 40f), and slowly bringing the temperature down to your lagering temperature by decreasing the temperature by 5 degrees per day.   I'll admit I'm not the 20 year veteran of lagering but I haven't had issue yet with getting my lager yeast going and slowly lowering the temp to my lager temp and then leaving it sit for several months.  
AHA Lifetime Member

Offline bluesman

• I must live here
  • Delaware
« Reply #3 on: November 17, 2010, 08:43:59 pm »
Here's the take from John Palmer's website.