Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: braggot  (Read 6977 times)

Offline jeffy

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
  • Tampa, Fl
Re: braggot
« Reply #15 on: November 23, 2010, 09:27:05 am »
Can anyone give me some advice on bottling a braggot?  Should I treat it like an ale or a mead?  Seems pretty silly in hindsight, that I got it in the fermenter before I even thought about bottling.

Hey, you'd have to give a lot more info before anyone could answer your questions.  You could go with a lightly carbonated ale-like version or you could serve it "still" (i.e. non-carbonated) that's entirely up to you.  Do you plan to age the batch long term? That could effect your ability to carbonate unless you can force carbonate it or you're familiar with carbonating an aged beverage. If you post more info we can go from there.   

Sorry, this is my first attempt at a braggot.  I used the recipe out of Schramm's "Compleat Meadmaker."  I used the extract variation and 10 lbs of wildflower honey.  I do my meads still but my ale tends to be on the full body side, mainly an Arrogant Bastard clone, that I bottle using priming sugar.  I figured on it being more like an ale and at least a year to finish.  The SG was 1.120 so I'm figuring 9-10% ABV range when it's done.  I've racked it to a secondary and expecting at least 2 months to clarify.  I was figuring on carbonating like the ale but am worried about the higher alcohol level.  tschmidlin's idea about the card drops sound like a great option, but I'm open to trying just about anything.  If I wasn't willing to experiment, I'd be drinking beer in a can...lol

I usually avoid the bottle conditioning and force carbonate my braggots.  This way I don't have to stress too much about whether they will eventually carbonate to the level I want.  You can even do this a few bottles at a time with a one liter plastic bottle and a carbonator cap.