Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Impulsive 6-Row Moment  (Read 4192 times)

Offline jwaldner

• Cellarman
Impulsive 6-Row Moment
« on: November 12, 2010, 07:40:46 am »
I'm fairly new to all grain brewing and recently I was in my local homebrew shop who sadly was going out of business. In an impulsive moment I bought a 50lb bag of 6-Row malt because it was on-sale and seemed like such a great deal. After having it for a few weeks I just can't seem to find a practical use for this much 6-Row malt.

I've read that this type of malt is manily used when a large amount of adjuncts are used in the mash but I typically don't brew with a large amount of adjuncts. In addition, I've read that it will impart a grainy taste of which I'm not sure what style of beer would this fit and it's supposed to have considerably less of a yield. I've also looked through quite a few recipes and clone recipes and don't even see 6-Row called for at all. Does anyone have any recommendations on how I can use this malt effectively?

Cheers!
« Last Edit: November 12, 2010, 07:42:45 am by jwaldner »

Offline richardt

• Senior Brewmaster
Re: Impulsive 6-Row Moment
« Reply #1 on: November 12, 2010, 07:46:02 am »
Why not a good Clasic American Pilsner (CAP) or a Munich Helles?  I would avoid too fine of a crush, and use a protein rest.  I assume you have your own grain mill since your LHBS is closing down.  It is the right time of year to brew lagers.

Offline hamiltont

• Brewmaster
« Reply #2 on: November 12, 2010, 07:51:32 am »
Six-row is used primarily in American Lagers & the Classic American Pilsner.  You'll need a way to keep your fermentation around 50F and lager them around 34F to brew a Lager/Pilsner.   Cheers!!!
If Homebrew & BBQ aren't the answer, then you're askin' the wrong questions... Cheers!!!

Offline gordonstrong

• Senior Brewmaster
    • BJCP
« Reply #3 on: November 12, 2010, 07:57:08 am »
Off the top of my head,