Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: The final word on a secondary fermentation  (Read 27346 times)

Offline brewmasternpb

• Brewer
The final word on a secondary fermentation
« on: November 17, 2010, 10:57:04 pm »
OK, I've been seeing a lot of posts from some experienced homebrewers, saying that they don't use a secondary fermentation.  I've been brewing for 8 years, and I've always used a secondary.  I want to gather the facts, so I can evaluate my process, "it's a pain in the butt" is not a valid reason for me.  Here's how I see it:
Using a secondary increases the chances of infection, but if you sanitize everything well, it is a low risk.  The positives are that a secondary improves clarity, but I've heard people say that they get decent clarity without a secondary.  The reason I use a secondary fermentation, is to get the beer off of the trub, decreasing astringency and a "meat-like" flavor.  What I've been reading, is that keeping your beer on the yeast in the primary will aid fermentation.  I overpitch like crazy, so my fermentation is over in 3 days, so a week on the primary usually does it.  Anyway, I'd like input, thanks!
-Dave
Dave Malone
The Greater Denver Yeast Infection

Offline euge

• I must live here
  • Ego ceruisam ad bibere cervisiam
Re: The final word on a secondary fermentation
« Reply #1 on: November 17, 2010, 11:39:56 pm »
I think one should get their beer off the yeast sooner than later also. If you want to park your beer in a secondary go for it. I park mine in kegs since I rarely dry-hop or add fruit.