Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: How to rack to secondary?  (Read 4148 times)

Offline Rob

• 1st Kit
How to rack to secondary?
« on: November 23, 2010, 07:48:46 pm »
Fisrt time brew noob here.  Been reading a lot and learned a lot.  Actually brewed with the help from someone and I am trying to make sure I understand all the steps to finish.  I currently have a Brewer's Best HopNog fermenting.  Day 3.  The directions call for a secondary with dry hops.  I have read a lot of threads regarding the use of a secondary and possiblility of contamination and oxidation.  My question is how to best get from the fermentation bucket to the secondary, and how do I strain?

My fermentation bucket is a bucket with a spigot.  My secondary is a glass carboy.  My thought was to attach a hose to the spigot and drain through a fine mesh strainer and funnel with a hose attached to the funnel and laying at the bottom of the carboy.  How do you guys do it?  Just let it drop from the funnel into the carboy?  Don't bother straining?

Thanks For your help.  Rob.

Offline oscarvan

• Senior Brewmaster
Re: How to rack to secondary?
« Reply #1 on: November 23, 2010, 08:05:43 pm »
Almost everyone here knows more than I do. That said, the trick to avoiding infection, which is the primary risk associated with racking, is to minimize the amount of equipment, and air exposure. Also, I was told that the spigot on most brew buckets is too low, and that dead yeast will work it's way out.....

Soooooo, if I were to do this, I would take my autosiphon, sanitize the crap out of it and the carboy, and then use it to transfer gently down to a safe distance above the undesirable layer in the bottom of your fermenter.

But I'm still a noob too, so I am prepared to be set straight.
Wooden Shoe Brew Works (not a commercial operation) Bethlehem, PA
http://www.woodenshoemusic.com/WSBW/WSBW_All_grain_Setup.html