Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Comment on proposed keg cleaning procedure  (Read 6024 times)

Offline wingnut

• Brewer
  • Plainwell MI
Comment on proposed keg cleaning procedure
« on: November 19, 2010, 01:33:48 pm »
I am relatively new to kegging, and I have read up on it a bit… but I had the following brain storm and I am looking for comments/experience, on if my thoughts are critically flawed or not.

Basically, I went to kegging as a means to reduce oxidation in my beers, and a more speedy packaging day is a nice benefit too!

My thought was that once I kick a keg, it is full of CO2 and a bit of beer residue.  What if I filled a keg with StarSan and pushed that into the sealed keg… essentially dispense the StarSan into the sealed keg… and shake the Star San around… invert the keg to make sure the top of the keg gets a good dose as well… basically rinse the keg with StarSan, and keep the keg full of CO2.  That way when I am ready to fill the keg again with a fresh batch, the keg will already have CO2 in it and be sanitized.

Obviously, the keg will need to be completely dis-assembled every three or four batches to keep the poppet and such extra good… but is a complete dis-assembly necessary after EVERY beer?

I look forward to learning from everyone’s wisdom!

Thanks!
-- Wingnut - Cheers!

Offline theDarkSide

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
  • Derry, NH
Re: Comment on proposed keg cleaning procedure
« Reply #1 on: November 19, 2010, 01:53:39 pm »
First, I'm not sure how affective a cleaner Star San is.  I know on the Brew Strong episode with Five Star they said it would be affective in cleaning inorganic compounds but organic stuff should be cleaned with an alkaline solution, like PBW.  Also, when I kick a keg, I usually have more than just a bit of residual beer in the bottom.  I wouldn't feel like I could get all that stuff up the diptube.