Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Fridge or freezer?  (Read 2560 times)

Offline noisycricket

• 1st Kit
Fridge or freezer?
« on: November 28, 2010, 08:18:06 pm »
I'm new to kegging and I'm wondering which is the better option to make a kegerator: 
A fridge with faucets in the door,
or
A chest freezer/temp controller with faucets in the face
Can you guys help me with the pros & cons, maybe even a couple "I wish I would've..." scenarios?  I have two corny kegs and a 20lb cylinder, but the ideas is to have 4 or 5 kegs/faucets with two of them being root beer and cola and three being whatever I brew.
Thanks.
Tasty but gone:  Mirror Pond clone, only better.
Just kegged and enjoying:  5th Honey Brown, brewed with real Rocky Mountain water.
Primary:  Sandcastle

Brewing since the summer of 2010.  Thanks for the gear, Tom!

Offline oscarvan

• Senior Brewmaster
Re: Fridge or freezer?
« Reply #1 on: November 28, 2010, 09:58:52 pm »
Just went through this. Where I live on this rock the freezers are in $hort $upply on Craigslist. Plus the cost of the temp controller. BE AWARE the upright freezers have freon running through the shelves you can NOT remove the shelves and thus not get the keggies in there so you need a chest.

Whereas the upright fridges are for sale under $100 all day long. I got a fridge up freezer down Sears model for $50 bucks. Fits 6 keggies or 5 and a CO2 bottle, plus ice for the travel coolers below......and, no temp controller, and a smaller footprint.

And, no collar to build. Just a few holes in the door where I am SURE there is no freon. Idiot proof. And, if it croaks, I chuck it and get another one and be back in business in a matter of a few hours, whereas if your chest croaks and you built a collar.....you have to find the exact same size chest or build a new collar. And, be careful drilling in chests..... there is freon tubing in the sides.... :o