Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: High effect FG on Extract Recipes from LME unfermentables  (Read 2444 times)

Offline rjharper

• Brewmaster
    • Angry Scotsman Brewing
High effect FG on Extract Recipes from LME unfermentables
« on: December 02, 2010, 11:51:47 am »
Hi all,
I've seen a lot of commentary on various posts regarding high FG on extract recipes as a result of unfermentables in LME, particularly as you go with the dark LME.  It seems a lot of brewers are getting to the 1.020-1.025s or higher, and most of the feedback from the experienced brewers, who have been doing this a whole lot longer than me and know a lot more that I do, seems to point to accepting it as the LME effect.

I've been doing extract recipes for 5 years.  A typical recipe for me is 6-7lbs of LME plus specialities, and I can get it to FG in the 1.008-1.012 reliably.  Heck, my RIS recipe (my fav) with 10lbs of Dark LME goes to 1.018FG.  I ferment in the mid 60s, make a starter, get good hot and cold breaks etc.  So am I just lucky, or am I doing things right, and there's more to it than just blaming LME.  Is it the quality of LME?  I use only Muntons or occasionally Breiss.  I've seen suggestions to replace some LME with Corn Sugar if you want a drier FG but I've never had to resort to that.

I'm not trying to start an argument or flame war here, quite the opposite.  I'm genuinely curious as to why my recipes are working out great for me.  Thanks in advance for the great input I know I'll get from the regulars here.

Offline denny

• Administrator
  • Retired with too much time on my hands
  • Noti OR [1991.4, 287.6deg] AR
    • Dennybrew
Re: High effect FG on Extract Recipes from LME unfermentables
« Reply #1 on: December 02, 2010, 12:10:50 pm »