Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: does the yeast define the brew?  (Read 2099 times)

Offline whitey

• Cellarman
does the yeast define the brew?
« on: December 11, 2010, 06:13:40 am »
Hi. Im a beginner, I don't do a lot of brewing, largley to time constraints,  so I've been making kits in order to learn and understand the process. Last weekend I made my first lager kit. Its a Vienna Lager kit made by Brewer's Best. It had a yeast pack that the intructions said would work well as lager or ale, and that I could brew this beer as an ale.

I want(ed) to brew this a lager to better understand the difference in process. So mixed it up. And pitched the yeast as intructed, and was told to keep it at 48F-58F to ferment, which I did......and nothing happened. I left it at about 57F for two days and nothing. So I pulled out to 67F and vola,  fermentation.

Does this mean that I now have an ale and not a over?
Kegged:
Oatmeal Stout
Doppelbock
ESB
Vienna Lager
Belgian Wheat
Heffeweizen

Bottled:

beveragebob

Re: does the yeast define the brew?
« Reply #1 on: December 11, 2010, 06:20:25 am »
Does the kit say what kind of yeast it is? If it's an ale yeast it's an ale if it's a lager yeast you just made a "Steam Beer" (Lager fermented at ale temps)

Offline Slowbrew

• I spend way too much time on the AHA forum
  • The Slowly Losing IT Brewery in Urbandale, IA
« Reply #2 on: December 11, 2010, 06:37:51 am »
To some extent the yeast does define the beer.  As with any complex process no one factor is completely determinate, however.  The beer you produce is a combination of extracts (sugars, grain fruits, whatever), hops, technique, yeast and time.