Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Lager in a Keg?  (Read 40623 times)

Offline Podo

• Cellarman
  • Korea
Lager in a Keg?
« on: December 16, 2010, 07:57:35 pm »
Hey y'all,

I brewed a german pils a couple weeks back, and I'm thinking about how to go about lagering when it's time.  I was thinking of xferring it to a keg and lagering it in my kegerator for a few weeks.  Think this will work?  I'm guessing the right thing to do would be to put it on gas just enough to purge all the oxygen out, but should I lager it under a little bit of pressure, or just purge all the gas and let it be?  When I'm done lagering, should I transfer it again to a fresh keg, or can I serve straight from the secondary?  I wasn't planning on using any clarifiers, mostly because I've never used them before.  Thanks!

Dave
So good once it hits your lips!

Offline blatz

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
  • Paul Blatz - Jupiter, FL
Re: Lager in a Keg?
« Reply #1 on: December 16, 2010, 08:35:19 pm »
Hey y'all,

I brewed a german pils a couple weeks back, and I'm thinking about how to go about lagering when it's time.  I was thinking of xferring it to a keg and lagering it in my kegerator for a few weeks.  Think this will work?  I'm guessing the right thing to do would be to put it on gas just enough to purge all the oxygen out, but should I lager it under a little bit of pressure, or just purge all the gas and let it be?  When I'm done lagering, should I transfer it again to a fresh keg, or can I serve straight from the secondary?  I wasn't planning on using any clarifiers, mostly because I've never used them before.  Thanks!

Dave

Lager in the keg, under pressure or not, it doesn't really matter so long as you have purged the head space.