Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: screwed up?  (Read 2673 times)

Offline smitty

• 1st Kit
screwed up?
« on: December 20, 2010, 06:44:07 pm »
So, I'm new to kegging, first off.  My first couple of batches went great, however, I just kegged two batches the other day and focred carbonated them, and I think it has turned into disaster.  One, an IPA, has got so much head, it's not even funny, and the other, a Munich Helles, still tastes kind of flat.  And to make matters worse, I'm pretty sure I have a leak in the CO2 tank, as it seems to be empty now.  Any help would be greatly appreciated, thank you.

Offline beerocd

• Senior Brewmaster
Re: screwed up?
« Reply #1 on: December 20, 2010, 06:55:14 pm »
Well first you gotta get yourself some more co2. Hook it up, spray the snot out of it with StarSan. Find the bubbles, fix the leak.
The moral majority, is neither.

Offline kerneldustjacket

• Assistant Brewer
« Reply #2 on: December 20, 2010, 08:12:44 pm »
This is not a disaster...both problems can be fixed easily with a little patience.
As beerocd says, if there's a leak you'd better find it, otherwise you'll be wasting CO2 (aka money in this instance).
For finding the leak, as he says soapy water or StarSan works great; when the liquid meets the leak, it makes bubbles. Spray wherever there is a fitting or hose connection, including any fitting on the regulator, such as gauges; tighten anything that bubbles.
Once your sure you have no leak, you can then work on getting your carbonation right.

Lets keep it simple: if your kegs are chilled to anywhere around the low 40s temperature wise, then set your CO2 pressure to 12 PSI...this will give you around 2.2 to 2.5 volumes of CO2 (go to 15 PSI if you want a little more fizz, or if your beer is stored in the high 40s)