Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Gluten Free Beer  (Read 2401 times)

Offline rocketfuel

• 1st Kit
Gluten Free Beer
« on: September 05, 2010, 08:29:01 pm »
I've got a friend with celiacs disease and I wanted to brew her a batch of gluten free beer.

I've been brewing for ~2 years (have a pretty solid all grain setup), but I have never ventured into the gluten beers.  Its a little odd, but she really misses good beer.  I want to help her out and brew something flavorful but gluten free. 

I was going to base it off some liquid Sorghum extract.  For color/flavor I was going to use some dark Belgian candy sugar.  Planning on using 3 oz of pellet hops (a mix of cascade and vanguard).  Probably use a basic ale yeast.

Has anyone tried something similar?  I don't really know what to expect when not using grain AT ALL.
“A fine beer may be judged with only one sip, but it's better to be thoroughly sure.”

Offline Beertracker

• Brewer
  • ExperiFermenting since 1994!
    • Fellowship of Oklahoma Ale Makers (FOAM)
Re: Gluten Free Beer
« Reply #1 on: September 05, 2010, 08:52:56 pm »
Here's a link to a friend's blog about one of the gluten free beers she's been brewing. I've tasted it and it's surprising drinkable for using no barley. Good luck!  ;)

Desiree's Beer & Wine Blog
http://blog.highgravitybrew.com/?p=191
CHEERS! Jeff
"A homebrewed beer is truly a superior beer." ~ "Buffalo" Bill Owens - American Brewer

Jeffrey Swearengin
Fellowship of Oklahoma Ale Makers (FOAM)
Tulsa, OK USA

Offline tygo

• I spend way too much time on the AHA forum
  • Sterling, VA
« Reply #2 on: September 05, 2010, 09:55:43 pm »
There's a thread in the beer recipes forum on the subject:  http://www.homebrewersassociation.org/forum/index.php?topic=1787.0
Clint
Wort Hogs

Offline rocketfuel

• 1st Kit
« Reply #3 on: September 27, 2010, 10:14:40 pm »
I went with a 5 gal batch:

.5 lbs oats (steeped at 140 F for 30 min)