Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: The Beers of Westeros: Game of Thrones brewing  (Read 3292 times)

Offline jakeandbake

• 1st Kit
The Beers of Westeros: Game of Thrones brewing
« on: January 13, 2011, 07:15:39 pm »
So this started about two hours ago, when I remarked to a friend it'd be cool to do some beers based on these books, mostly so we could drink them while watching the premiere of the show.

Now, this is turning into more of a long range project. I'm a newbie at this game, only got two beers under my belt, but I figured you guys would probably know a little more than the people at BA.com about what kinda beers to brew.

If you're curious, the Game of Thrones (or Song of Ice and Fire) books are sort of a gritty medieval fantasy. There's magic and dragons and stuff, but it's really not your average fantasy fare. We were looking at brewing a beer for each of the main families in the book, the Lannisters and the Starks, but I'm thinking about adopting it as a larger project in order to learn more about brewing. So we're looking at maybe doing some regional brews for the kingdom instead, which would give me a greater range of stuff to brew.

The general consensus is a stout for the Starks/Winterfell, who inhabit the snowy upper regions of the kingdom, and something light and wheaty for the Lannisters, who tend to live more around the southern parts of the nation. There's a host of other regions in the kingdom, so there's really no end to the kind of beers I could brew.

Any GoT fans or people who are up to snuff on medieval brews have any input on styles or recipes?

Offline euge

• I must live here
  • Ego ceruisam ad bibere cervisiam
Re: The Beers of Westeros: Game of Thrones brewing
« Reply #1 on: January 13, 2011, 08:46:11 pm »
I've read about three of the books. Whew! Talk about some people (children even) getting a raw deal! Will check out the game.  The idea for the beer is appropriate.