Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Water adjustment with extract  (Read 3475 times)

Offline SoPHiSTo

• 1st Kit
Water adjustment with extract
« on: January 18, 2011, 10:28:56 am »
So I'm lucky enough to live in Longmont, CO where we have almost distilled water coming from our tap.  I'm getting ready to make an extract batch of Alt.  I have been doing AG for 6 months now and I'm getting comfortable with water adjustment doing AG.  My question is how important is water adjustment when doing extract?  Like I said Longmont's water is virtually void of most minerals:

Ca = 8 ppm
Mg = 1.2 ppm
Na = 12 ppm
SO4 = 5 ppm
Cl = 2 ppm
HCO3 = 24 ppm

I'd like to know what you guys recommend for making this Alt, just leave it be or add some alkalinity/calcium to the water??

Joel
Longmont, CO
Twitter - @SoPHiSTo

Offline tomsawyer

• Senior Brewmaster
Re: Water adjustment with extract
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2011, 10:30:14 am »
I'd say the minerals needed were in their mash.  I suppose you could possibly adjust for flavor, but with an alt its generally kind of balanced anyway so I don't know that it'd be necessary.  Plus you don't know what you are starting with.
Lennie
Hannibal, MO

Offline redbeerman

• Senior Brewmaster
  • On the banks of the mighty Susquehanna in MD
« Reply #2 on: January 18, 2011, 10:36:06 am »
If it tastes good enough to drink, it will be fine for an extract brew.
CH3CH2OH - Without it, life itself would be impossible.

[441, 112.1deg] AR

Jim

Offline SoPHiSTo

• 1st Kit
« Reply #3 on: January 18, 2011, 10:37:58 am »
If it tastes good enough to drink, it will be fine for an extract brew.

I understand that, just trying to make it true to style.
Joel
Longmont, CO
Twitter - @SoPHiSTo

Offline tomsawyer

• Senior Brewmaster
« Reply #4 on: January 18, 2011, 11:52:59 am »