Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Best for straining  (Read 3499 times)

Offline quest4watneys

• Assistant Brewer
  • Indianapolis, IN
Best for straining
« on: January 13, 2011, 08:12:26 pm »
I'm a noob in case the question I'm about to ask doesn't make it readily apparent! But, what kind of filter/strainer is best for moving a primary fermentation to a secondary fermentation vessel.
I'm now an official AHA member!

Offline euge

• I must live here
  • Ego ceruisam ad bibere cervisiam
Re: Best for straining
« Reply #1 on: January 13, 2011, 08:18:45 pm »
Shouldn't be necessary to filter but more info might help.
The first principle is that you must not fool yourself, and you are the easiest person to fool. -Richard P. Feynman

Laws are spider-webs, which catch the little flies, but cannot hold the big ones. -Anacharsis

Offline beerocd

• Senior Brewmaster
« Reply #2 on: January 13, 2011, 08:19:14 pm »
Time. Oh, and secondary probably isn't necessary.
So with all that extra time with not filtering or going to secondary you have time to brew another batch!  8)

OK, really why do you want to filter and secondary?
« Last Edit: January 13, 2011, 08:20:51 pm by beerocd »
The moral majority, is neither.

Offline majorvices

• Global Moderator
  • I must live here
  • Polka. If its too loud you're too young.
« Reply #3 on: January 14, 2011, 05:45:17 am »
The only way to properly filter a beer is by pushing through a plate or canister filter using Co2. This would require you purchasing a kegging system. I'd say 95% of us that even own kegging systems don't bother filtering. Just leave the beer settle longer in the primary. Use a secondary to further clarify the beer, though IME you can get a beer pretty darn clear in the primary.

Offline richardt

• Senior Brewmaster
« Reply #4 on: January 14, 2011, 07:16:38 am »
Let the beer ferment down to a stable FG at whatever fermentation temp is best for that beer style.