Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: three tier systems how do they work  (Read 19511 times)

Offline lees_brew

• 1st Kit
three tier systems how do they work
« on: January 19, 2011, 08:20:38 pm »
I have a question and I searched and had no luck. How does a three tier system /gravity system work? I see them all on the site and have not really figured out how they work. I want to build one just lost on operation. Is there any online data for them? What about for the abrevations for brewers? I am new to this and really enjoy it. So if you need to haze go ahead I am a big boy.

Thanks
Lee

Offline corkybstewart

• Senior Brewmaster
Re: three tier systems how do they work
« Reply #1 on: January 19, 2011, 08:42:11 pm »
My 3 tiered system works on a combo of gravity and a pump.  The top burner has my HLT(hot liquor tank) for heating sparge water.  The middle burner is for my mash tun, in my case a converted keg with a false bottom.  The bottom tier is for my boiling kettle. I use gravity to sparge, and to move the wort from the mash tun to the kettle. I use my pump to recirculate the wort during chilling and to pump the wort to my fermenters.  It took ne aabout 8 hours with my old single turkey fryer to brew 5 gallons, with this setup I brew 10 or 15 in just 6 hours.
Here's a picture of it, but the pump is mounted on the other side.
http://s362.photobucket.com/albums/oo65/rocdoc1/my%20beer%20stuff/?action=view&current=Corkysbeerstuff003.jpg
Life is wonderful in sunny White Signal New Mexico

Offline dannyjed

• Senior Brewmaster
  • Toledo, OH
« Reply #2 on: January 19, 2011, 08:43:35 pm »
A tier system uses gravity to move the liquids from hot water tank to mash tun, and mash tun to boil kettle instead of using pumps.  There are tier systems that use pumps as well, but if you have pumps you can have all on the same level.
Dan Chisholm

Offline lees_brew

• 1st Kit
« Reply #3 on: January 20, 2011, 04:55:55 pm »