Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Shotgunning a Competition?  (Read 5264 times)

Offline tomsawyer

• Senior Brewmaster
Shotgunning a Competition?
« on: January 20, 2011, 09:18:48 am »
I'm a complete newb at comps, and I heard this term "shotgunning" ahwile back.  I gathered at the time it described someone who had multiple entries in a comp, and that it was frowned upon to some extent.

My question is, what is proper etiquette regarding number of entries for a beer comp?  Or is it really no big deal?  Any other constraints, like not entering more than one of a particular style?

I was going to enter two beers in an upcoming contest, but I have probably four or five that might be worthy (still evaluating, thats tough work).
Lennie
Hannibal, MO

Offline Hokerer

• I spend way too much time on the AHA forum
  • Manassas, VA
Re: Shotgunning a Competition?
« Reply #1 on: January 20, 2011, 09:22:14 am »
I don't think anyone's ever gonna accuse you of "shotgunning" with just four or five entries so I wouldn't worry about it.  As for more than one entry in a category, each comp usually has specific rules listed for that.  Some allow it, some dont'.
Joe

Offline bonjour

• Senior Brewmaster
  • Troy, MI, 37mi, 60.9deg AR
« Reply #2 on: January 20, 2011, 09:32:29 am »
"Shotgunning" will do you no good if you don't make good beers in all the styles.
Enter the beers in competition as you brew them for feedback.
"Shotgunning" is usually done to achieve higher awards.

Fred Bonjour
Co-Chair Mashing in Michigan 2014 AHA Conference in Grand Rapids, Michigan
AHA Governing Committee; AHA Conference, Club Support & Web Subcommittees

Everything under 1.100 is a 'session' beer ;)

Offline jeffy

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
  • Tampa, Fl
« Reply #3 on: January 20, 2011, 09:39:26 am »