Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Topping Up with water...  (Read 6669 times)

Offline dean

• Brewmaster
  • Me and Hayden, my newest grandson.
Topping Up with water...
« on: January 21, 2011, 10:20:50 am »
How many of you do it on a regular basis?  I just did a batch purposefully topping up with water after the boil because I had to brew in the house and I also wanted to help chill the boiling hot wort immediately.   I've never tried it before except when I had been doing extracts or partial mashes... I'm curious to see what comes of it.   Those of you that have or are topping up regularly, have you noticed any benefits or disparities from doing it?    ???

I may have lost a tiny amount of efficiency but I'm not sure... with a 5 gallon boil topping up with cold water  to make 7 gallons in a bucket I still had 81% efficiency... 11 pounds of malts plus 1 pound of corn syrup and I have a OG of 1.051.  Having watered down by topping up, I'm expecting to get a lower FG than if I had done a full boil.  I'm not sold on what to expect from my hops considering the things we're learning about hopstands etc.  One calculation shows a higher IBU than if I had done a full boil...   ???  :-\  No matter... I'll drink it anyway and I'm getting to where less means more to me lately anyway.   ;)

Offline tomsawyer

• Senior Brewmaster
Re: Topping Up with water...
« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2011, 10:42:53 am »
I will occasionally top up with tap water if I happen to overshoot my intended OG.  The beauty of small batches (3gal) is I always have room to do this.

Topping up doesn't affect efficiency, that only happens if you boil it.
Lennie
Hannibal, MO

Offline dean

• Brewmaster
« Reply #2 on: January 21, 2011, 10:51:28 am »