Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Stout Recipe  (Read 7148 times)

chargerssb

Stout Recipe
« on: January 13, 2011, 09:34:30 pm »
Hello,

I am fairly new to brewing, this will only be my 3rd batch. I got an Irish Stout kit from Midwest Supplies for X-mas. I was thinking of making it into a chocolate cherry stout or a bourbon stout, but wasn't sure how to go about either one, or whether or not either of these would work. Also, if I was going to do a bourbon stout I think I would want to boost the alcohol content somehow... Here are the ingredients that came with the kit:

Fermentables:
-6lbs dark liquid malt extract

Specialty Grains (steep at 155 for 30 mins):
-4 oz chocolate malt
-4 oz caramel 10L
-4 oz roasted barley
-4 oz flaked barley

Hops:
-1/2 nugget
-1 oz willamette

Yeast:
-White Labs Irish Ale Yeast WLP004

Any tips, suggestions etc. would be greatly appreciated. Also, is this still considered extract brewing, or is it partial/mini mash? Thanks.

Offline tschmidlin

• I must live here
  • Redmond, WA
Re: Stout Recipe
« Reply #1 on: January 13, 2011, 11:27:38 pm »
It's "extract with steeping grains", which only differs from partial/mini mash in that the temperature isn't as important and you don't need to worry about conversion.

Brew it as the directions say, what you're trying to do is perfect for additions after fermentation.  Chocolate, cherries, bourbon, all of that can (and I think should) be added later.  Don't use cherry extract, I've never tasted a good one.  Go with a good quality puree if you can't get fresh/frozen whole fruit.  For chocolate, you can use cacao nibs.  For bourbon, use bourbon :)

The fruit and nibs should be added in secondary, the bourbon just add at bottling.  You can get fancier and soak the bourbon with some vanilla beans or other flavor agents, but you might want to start with something simpler.  It's your call.
Tom Schmidlin

chargerssb