Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: irish red ale  (Read 4034 times)

Offline sharg54

• Cellarman
irish red ale
« on: December 12, 2010, 10:28:03 pm »
Looking at making an irish red but as this is my first attempt at my own recipe I thought I would bounce it off some of you and get some input.
8 lbs Maris Otter
1.5 lbs Caramel 60
.75 lbs Caramel 80
1 oz EKG @ 60 min.
.75 oz EKG @ 25 min.
.25 oz EKG @ 3 min.

Thinking I should drop in about .5 lbs of Caramel 120 as well but the malt flavor may already be
to high with all the Otter. What do you think?
People keep telling me it's not rocket science... I like rockets..

beveragebob

Re: irish red ale
« Reply #1 on: December 12, 2010, 11:00:35 pm »
I'd go with one lb of crystal and add 2 ounces of roasted barley for color. 60 or 80L depending what caramel level you desire. I use 80L in mine along with a lb of flaked barley for a creamier mouthfeel.

Offline Hokerer

• I spend way too much time on the AHA forum
  • Manassas, VA
« Reply #2 on: December 13, 2010, 07:22:35 am »
I'd go with one lb of crystal and add 2 ounces of roasted barley for color. 60 or 80L depending what caramel level you desire. I use 80L in mine along with a lb of flaked barley for a creamier mouthfeel.

+1 Cut the crystal/caramel down to one pound and add 2 oz of roast barley
Joe

Offline Hokerer

• I spend way too much time on the AHA forum
  • Manassas, VA
« Reply #3 on: December 13, 2010, 07:27:42 am »
Also, an Irish Red is not about the hops so you may want to back off some there too.  According to the style guidelines, there should be "generally no flavor hops, although some examples may have a light English hop flavor".  Obviously it's up to you to define that, but you've got .75 oz of flavor additions.  Also, "Hop aroma is low to none (usually not present)" and you've got .25 oz.  Guess that could be considered "low".
Joe

Offline dak0415

• Brewmaster
  • Winston-Salem, NC