Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: First Time Judging Beer  (Read 6996 times)

Offline tomsawyer

• Senior Brewmaster
First Time Judging Beer
« on: February 14, 2011, 11:45:04 am »
This weekend I'm judging for the first time at a competition in KC.  I got my assignments, I'm judging porters, Belgian/French ales, and Scottish/Irish ales.  They don't tell you which particular styles within the category, in advance.  Needless to say I'm excited!  And just a little worried about doing a decent job of it.  I also entered four beers and this is my first time entering beer in a comp as well.  Talk about your rookies.

What do you typically do to prepare for judging a competition?

Lennie
Hannibal, MO

Offline jeffy

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
  • Tampa, Fl
Re: First Time Judging Beer
« Reply #1 on: February 14, 2011, 11:59:30 am »
This weekend I'm judging for the first time at a competition in KC.  I got my assignments, I'm judging porters, Belgian/French ales, and Scottish/Irish ales.  They don't tell you which particular styles within the category, in advance.  Needless to say I'm excited!  And just a little worried about doing a decent job of it.  I also entered four beers and this is my first time entering beer in a comp as well.  Talk about your rookies.

What do you typically do to prepare for judging a competition?

Don't drink too much the night before.  Stay away from spicy foods that morning.  Eat breakfast.  Drink lots of water between samples.  Let your senses be your guide and try not to be intimidated or influenced too much by the other judges.

Have fun!
Jeff Gladish, Tampa (989.3, 175.1 Apparent Rennarian)
Homebrewing since 1990
AHA member since 1991, now a lifetime member
BJCP judge since 1995

Offline tom

• Senior Brewmaster
  • Denver, CO
« Reply #2 on: February 14, 2011, 12:03:38 pm »
and review the style guidelines
Brew on

Offline dbeechum

• Global Moderator