Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Mead batch looking weird  (Read 600 times)

Offline orerockon

• 1st Kit
Mead batch looking weird
« on: January 17, 2023, 03:34:01 pm »
Hello, I just started 20 gallons of mead, I've been making mead for 8 years or so and I haven't seen anything like this. I do it in 5 gallon batches, and did 4 last night. Today 3 are yucky looking, brown like tea and a gray/brown scum cap, something is going on but it isn't fizzy like I expected. 1 is exactly what I expected, yellow and fizzy. I didn't do anything out of the ordinary, except I switch to EC-1111 because my Lavlin 71B batches have been very slow to get fermenting. So it's obvious from the photos what's going on, is the brown/gray one toast? I have 2 other buckets that look the same. It's about 20 hours since I added the yeast. I don't see a way to add photos.

Offline joe_meadmaker

• Brewer
Re: Mead batch looking weird
« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2023, 09:34:41 am »
It is strange that all the batches don't look the same.  But I wouldn't consider the 3 that look off to be a lost cause yet though.

The ones that look bad, what do they smell like (coming out of the airlock)?  And how does that compare to the 1 batch that looks normal?

Photos need to be hosted somewhere and linked to your post using the Insert Image option.  Alternatively you you can upload your photos to a hosting site (I normally use Google Drive, but whatever you want), make sure to share them to the public, and share a link to them here.

Offline orerockon

• 1st Kit
« Reply #2 on: January 24, 2023, 01:24:24 pm »