Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Mead Aging Question  (Read 13781 times)

Offline justenpelton

• 1st Kit
Mead Aging Question
« on: December 08, 2010, 06:21:57 pm »
I am new to mead making (and the AHA forum),  I have a couple of mead aging questions.  Will a mead age the same in a keg (under slight pressure) as it would in a glass carboy?  What temps are the best for aging meads, would temps of the mid-forties be too cool when it comes to aging meads or would meads benefit more from aging at cellar temps (50-54)? I was also wondering about racking off the lees as it settles, I fermented using Lalvin 71B-1122.

Thanks in advance!

Offline BrewArk

• Brewmaster
  • Rick - Newark, California
    • BrewArk
Re: Mead Aging Question
« Reply #1 on: December 08, 2010, 11:44:54 pm »
I am new to mead making (and the AHA forum),  I have a couple of mead aging questions.  Will a mead age the same in a keg (under slight pressure) as it would in a glass carboy?  What temps are the best for aging meads, would temps of the mid-forties be too cool when it comes to aging meads or would meads benefit more from aging at cellar temps (50-54)? I was also wondering about racking off the lees as it settles, I fermented using Lalvin 71B-1122.

Thanks in advance!

Can't answer directly - I've only fermented mead in glass.  I'd expect it to be just fine in stainless.  I age my meads in my garage @ ambient temps.  What I do is ferment to dry, add sorbate & wait a week, add bentonite and let the lees settle (pretty neat to see the clarity change here), back-sweeten to taste, a couple of campden tablets, overnight & bottle.

So far I'm happy w/the batches I've made.  Straight meads w/no fruit.  :)
Beer...Now there's a temporary solution!

Na ZdravĂ­

Offline beerrat

• Assistant Brewer
« Reply #2 on: December 10, 2010, 11:11:15 am »