Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Rye Pale Ale clarity  (Read 7080 times)

Offline dano14041

• Brewer
Rye Pale Ale clarity
« on: March 07, 2011, 07:41:18 pm »
Are Rye Pale Ales supposed to be clear, or cloudy like a Wheat Ale?

I just want to check myself. I am using 40% rye malt (http://www.homebrewersassociation.org/forum/index.php?topic=5913.0 recipe) if that makes any difference.

Thanks!
Dano
Tulsa, OK

Offline bluesman

• I must live here
  • Delaware
Re: Rye Pale Ale clarity
« Reply #1 on: March 07, 2011, 07:49:22 pm »
They can be cloudy like a wheat beer but will clarify over time. Although I've never used 40% rye before, but my bet is that it will be fairly cloudy.
Ron Price

Offline Hokerer

• I spend way too much time on the AHA forum
  • Manassas, VA
« Reply #2 on: March 07, 2011, 08:10:12 pm »
I did one that was almost 50% rye and it definitely had a cloudiness to it.
Joe

Offline dano14041

• Brewer
« Reply #3 on: March 07, 2011, 08:21:38 pm »
Mine is definitely cloudy. My last batch didn't last long enough to see if it would clear, and I have a suspicion that this batch won't last any too long either.

Thanks for the input!
Dano
Tulsa, OK

Offline gimmeales

• Assistant Brewer
« Reply #4 on: March 07, 2011, 09:04:41 pm »
Rye is loaded with protein which will haze a beer - let alone that you're using 40%.  That's awesome.  I've only gone as high as 30% Rye in a beer.

My standard Rye IPA is about 25% and can take 3+ weeks to clear in the keg but that's a long to ask that beer to stay around :)

Offline jeffy

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
  • Tampa, Fl
« Reply #5 on: March 08, 2011, 05:35:22 am »
My 20% Rye IPA clears well in the keg, but it also has a lot to do with the yeast.  Thames Valley took forever to clear, but I've got a Belgian version using 1388 that has nice clarity.  If you were making a true Roggenbier, I'd think it would be very hazy.