Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Minimum Size for Kettle and Carboys - 5 Gallon Batches  (Read 32531 times)

Offline stankonia

• Cellarman
Minimum Size for Kettle and Carboys - 5 Gallon Batches
« on: March 08, 2011, 04:05:24 pm »
I'm just starting out and doing extract brewing.  What is the minimum size of Kettle and Carboys I should get for doing 5 gallon batches?

Is the difference between a 5 gallon and 6 gallon carboy noticeable when using a blow off valve?  I'm just wondering because some beginner kits have 6 gallon ones and others have 5.

Also, any advice on picking out a good kettle?  They are more expensive than I though, especially when getting ones larger than 5 gallons. But I don't want to be too cheap when getting one so I don't have to upgrade in a few months when I advance my brewing.  Generally what kind of stores (not online) sell kettles that are large enough, so I can feel/look at it?

Thanks for answering my newbie questions!

Offline The Professor

• Brewmaster
  • "In the next life, you're on your own"
Re: Minimum Size for Kettle and Carboys - 5 Gallon Batches
« Reply #1 on: March 08, 2011, 06:50:13 pm »
You'll probably get varying opinions, but for whatever my .02 is worth,  bigger is definitely better for your fermenter...if you use a 6 or 6 1/2  gal carboy, you generally don't need a blowoff tube at all (assuming you don't overpitch if re-using yeast).   A 7 gal or larger bucket for fermentation also effectively eliminates the need for any kind of blowoff setup (I mean, why waste any of the beer you're making!).

I use a 7 gal acid carboy I picked up around 25 years ago and never use a blowoff tube.  For the first two days I don't even use an airlock, just a piece of foil.