Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Thinking of making mead for the first time  (Read 3744 times)

Offline goobrew

• 1st Kit
Thinking of making mead for the first time
« on: March 24, 2011, 12:19:14 pm »
I have been given #2.5 of clover honey and I'm thinking of making a small batch of mead with it.  Is this enough to make a batch?  Would the volume be enough to be worth making?  Does anyone have a simple mead recipe?  I have been homebrewing for about 20 years, so I guess I know what I am doing with fermentation, but i'm spooked by the whole mead thing (no boil, long ferment, additives  ??? ).  Some input would be greatly appreciated.

Offline euge

• I must live here
  • Ego ceruisam ad bibere cervisiam
Re: Thinking of making mead for the first time
« Reply #1 on: March 24, 2011, 12:39:57 pm »
Might make a decent gallon of 1.088/8.5% ABV mead. To get all technical, you'll probably need some way of checking pH at various points in the fermentation.

Or you could let it "ride" like I always did. :)

There's some accomplished mead-makers here. They'll be more helpful.
The first principle is that you must not fool yourself, and you are the easiest person to fool. -Richard P. Feynman

Laws are spider-webs, which catch the little flies, but cannot hold the big ones. -Anacharsis

Offline dmtaylor

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
  • Lord Idiot the Lazy
    • YEAST MASTER Perma-Living
« Reply #2 on: March 24, 2011, 05:39:27 pm »
Yep, 2.5 pounds will make you around 1 gallon of decent mead.  Just add water until it hits around a gallon, plus or minus.  Then pitch your yeast and let it go for a month.  Doesn't need to be too complicated.  On the other hand....