Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Poll

Question steeping grains.

what is option 1
3 (60%)
What is option2
2 (40%)

Total Members Voted: 5

Author Topic: Steeping Grains  (Read 2821 times)

Offline pedrolikesbeer

• 1st Kit
Steeping Grains
« on: March 30, 2011, 11:04:25 am »
I'm fairly new to home brewing and have maybe what might be considered a stupid question.  I've been doing extract brewing with kits and with the instructions and in my books I'm reading it says to to steep grains for 10-30 minutes at about 155 degrees.  My question is, should I get the water to that temperature before starting to steep or are you supposed to start steeping and then get the temperature to 155?  And what difference if any will it make in the overall taste of the beer?  Thanks.
Beer. Because without it things just don't go so well

Offline denny

• Administrator
  • Retired with too much time on my hands
  • Noti OR [1991.4, 287.6deg] AR
    • Dennybrew
Re: Steeping Grains
« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2011, 11:20:51 am »
Either way is fine.  There will be no appreciable difference.
Life begins at 60.....1.060, that is!

www.dennybrew.com

The best, sharpest, funniest, weirdest and most knowledgable minds in home brewing contribute on the AHA forum. - Alewyfe

"The whole problem with the world is that fools and fanatics are always so certain of themselves, and wiser people so full of doubts." - Bertrand Russell

Offline ethalacker

• Assistant Brewer
« Reply #2 on: March 30, 2011, 11:22:23 am »
When i used steeping grains I would get the temp up to 155 then let it sit for 30 min.  But, I have heard of other people doing it the other way with good results.
BoneHead Brewery
Mableton, GA

Offline Beer Monger

• Brewer
  • ---Michael Dieterle--------- ---Seattle, WA
    • Beer Monger - Adventures In the Wonderful World of Beer.
« Reply #3 on: March 30, 2011, 11:22:50 am »
Start timing when you hit about 152 degrees - and try not to exceed 155 by much.