Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Clone Brew Names  (Read 3005 times)

Offline Kit B

• Brewmaster
Clone Brew Names
« on: March 31, 2011, 03:18:35 pm »
So, I just heard that Larry Bell has sent a cease & desist letter to Northern Brewer, requesting that they change the name of their Two Hearted Ale clone recipe from "Three Hearted" to something else.
While I realize that trademarks are serious business, I wonder what you're supposed to do, when you name a clone recipe.
It seems to me that nearly ever clone brew out there can run into trademark troubles.
What to do?

Offline tschmidlin

• I must live here
  • Redmond, WA
Re: Clone Brew Names
« Reply #1 on: March 31, 2011, 03:28:49 pm »
I would suggest they rename it Hoof Hearted. ;D

I can sort of see their point, it should be fine for NB to call it something else but in the description say it is a Two Hearted Ale clone.  Then again, I'm not a lawyer.
Tom Schmidlin

Offline Kit B

• Brewmaster
« Reply #2 on: March 31, 2011, 03:32:50 pm »
They changed it to "Dead Ringer".

But, I like your idea, more.
« Last Edit: March 31, 2011, 03:34:45 pm by Kit B »

Offline tschmidlin

• I must live here
  • Redmond, WA
« Reply #3 on: March 31, 2011, 03:36:48 pm »
Quick change. :)  I wonder if they could get away with calling it "Two Hearted Ale Clone" since it should be obvious it is not actually Two Hearted Ale.  Probably not worth the $$ paying lawyers to find out.
Tom Schmidlin

Offline gordonstrong

• Senior Brewmaster
    • BJCP
« Reply #4 on: March 31, 2011, 05:30:46 pm »
My favorite trademark suit was back in the early 1990s.  Apple codenamed one of their unreleased computers "Sagan".  Carl Sagan sued them.  So Apple changed the name to BHA, and said it was short for Butt-head Astronomer.  Sagan sued them again and lost.  The judge said, "one does not seriously attack the expertise of a scientist using the undefined phrase 'butt-head'."  Go ahead, look it up on google.