Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Looking for Feedback on an Orange Blossom Cream Ale  (Read 3880 times)

Offline stonepigbrewing

• 1st Kit
Looking for Feedback on an Orange Blossom Cream Ale
« on: April 14, 2011, 06:18:15 am »
I am primarily and extract brewer and was looking to make an Orange Blossom Cream Ale for my wife.  She is fond of the Buffalo Bill Orange Blossom Cream Ale so I am trying to make something similar.  This is my first attempt at creating a recipe and I would appreciate some feedback to let me know if I am on the right track.  Here is what I have so far:

Fermentables
Extract - Light Dried Malt Extract 3lb 5oz (52.4 %) End Of Boil
Extract - Briess Pilsen Light DME 1lb 0oz (15.9 %) End Of Boil
Sugar - Orange Blossom Honey 2lb 0oz (31.7 %) End Of Boil

Hops
US Liberty (4.5 % alpha) 28 g Loose Pellet Hops used 60 Min From End
US Liberty (4.5 % alpha) 14 g Loose Pellet Hops used 5 Min From End

Yeast:
Wyeast 1056-American Ale

I was also thinking about dry hopping with Orange Zest for aroma

Offline denny

• Administrator
  • Retired with too much time on my hands
  • Noti OR [1991.4, 287.6deg] AR
    • Dennybrew
Re: Looking for Feedback on an Orange Blossom Cream Ale
« Reply #1 on: April 14, 2011, 09:16:28 am »
If you add honey to the boil and let it go through primary fermentation, you'll likely lose any aromatics from it if that's an issue for you.  You might want to think about adding it to secondary.
Life begins at 60.....1.060, that is!

www.dennybrew.com

The best, sharpest, funniest, weirdest and most knowledgable minds in home brewing contribute on the AHA forum. - Alewyfe

"The whole problem with the world is that fools and fanatics are always so certain of themselves, and wiser people so full of doubts." - Bertrand Russell

Offline EHall

• Brewmaster
« Reply #2 on: April 14, 2011, 09:44:56 am »