Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Bitter Taste When Extract Brewing  (Read 3583 times)

Offline pedrolikesbeer

• 1st Kit
Bitter Taste When Extract Brewing
« on: April 19, 2011, 11:42:42 am »
Need some help.  And before I say that, let me say thanks to all the posts and answers.  It's awesome to have a great resource for questions.  I'm pretty new to this so all these really help.

My question is, I seem to be getting this slightly off taste when my beers are finished.  I'm not really sure how to explain it.  It's a slightly bitter "bite" at the end.  For the most part, the flavor has been good.  I'm just not sure how to get rid of that last little taste.  Maybe I can describe it as maybe a little like a bitter after taste from burnt grains.  Or something similar to that.

Funny thing is that I recently made a lighter beer, kind of like a pilsner, but used Ale yeast because of temperature issues for lagering.  That beer came out very good.  But for my darker beers I'm having the problem.

Any suggestions as to what I may be doing wrong?  I do a lot of care in trying to clean and sanitize everything.  Guess I could be missing something when cleaning but I do the best I can.  My temperature during fermetation stays as consistent as I can get it at about 68.

Only thing I can think that I may be doing is either steeping my grains at a too high temperatureor too long, or boiling too high or long.

Any suggestions.  I feel like I'm really close to making a great beer, just can't seem to get past this one.

Thanks,
PedroLikesBeer

Beer. Because without it things just don't go so well

Offline tschmidlin

• I must live here
  • Redmond, WA
Re: Bitter Taste When Extract Brewing
« Reply #1 on: April 19, 2011, 11:50:50 am »
Do you have any idea what the water is like where you live?  What kind of water do you use with your steeping/extract?  And can you post some recipes of the beers that were good and not as good?