Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Off Flavor...tangy & cidery  (Read 2924 times)

Offline jshark

• 1st Kit
Off Flavor...tangy & cidery
« on: April 22, 2011, 04:44:30 pm »
I just finished brewing up a batch of CREAM SWILL from Denny Conn's article in Zymurgy. I kegged it and am waiting for it to fully carbonate but, the flat beer tasted a bit tangy or cidery when first sipped. I've been brewing for several years and this flavor is new to me.

This is the first batch that I've used a plastic fermentor and dry yeast (Safale American US-05). Could the plastic or yeast be the reason? Have I been infected by bacteria? Anyone know what causes this off flavor?
« Last Edit: April 22, 2011, 06:40:43 pm by jshark »
" If the moonshine don't kill me, I'll live 'till I die." - song, The Moonshiner

Online dmtaylor

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
  • Lord Idiot the Lazy
    • YEAST MASTER Perma-Living
Re: Off Flavor...tangy & cidery
« Reply #1 on: April 22, 2011, 07:48:49 pm »
It might be a Lactobacillus infection.  It's happened to me.  I once made a Lacto beer on purpose, then several batches afterwards using the same equipment unintentionally ended up with Lacto infections as well.  Does the sourness taste like yogurt?  Sour cream?  That sort of tanginess?  Do you have any beer-loving buddies and/or local beer judges who would recognize what Lacto tastes like?  They should be able to tell you for sure.  If it is Lacto, then your plastic equipment is most likely permanently infected and will need to be replaced.

If it ain't Lacto... I can't really help you without tasting the beer myself.
Dave

The world will become a much more pleasant place to live when each and every one of us realizes that we are all idiots.

Offline jshark

• 1st Kit
« Reply #2 on: April 22, 2011, 08:44:51 pm »
It's a little yogurt-like.