Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Yeast and Heat  (Read 2235 times)

Offline dons

• Cellarman
  • Carrabelle, Florida
Yeast and Heat
« on: June 10, 2011, 12:29:27 am »
I did something I've never done before - ordered an AG kit.  It was sent from St. Paul, Minn to me in Florida.  It took a week to get here - in temperatures probably around 100 degrees.  There was a cold pack, but I'm sure that did not last 1 day.

The yeast I ordered was Wyeast 1056. 

Planning on brewing Saturday, I made my starter today.  It was 1 quart worth in a 2 quart jar with airlock.  I initially put it in the fridge but, after about 8 hours of no activity, I moved it to a chest at 68 degrees.  While there is separation happening, there is no airlock activity of note yet - after 12 hours.  The more I think about it, the more I'm wondering if I should bite the bullet and make a 3 hour drive to get new yeast.

Can that yeast stand a week at high temperature in the travel time?  Or am I better off making a LONG trip to get more?

Thanks.
Don
I've finally figured out my problem.  I have Cenosillicaphobia.

Offline euge

• I must live here
  • Ego ceruisam ad bibere cervisiam
Re: Yeast and Heat
« Reply #1 on: June 10, 2011, 12:40:21 am »
Is it 3 hours each way?
The first principle is that you must not fool yourself, and you are the easiest person to fool. -Richard P. Feynman

Laws are spider-webs, which catch the little flies, but cannot hold the big ones. -Anacharsis

Offline jeffy

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
  • Tampa, Fl
« Reply #2 on: June 10, 2011, 05:13:02 am »
I wonder why you put your starter in the fridge.  You should keep it warm and swirl it every time you walk by to keep it in suspension.  Hopefully activity will be more apparent by the time you are ready to brew.
Next time keep some dry yeast around just for this circumstance.  US 05 is the same stuff but is more resilient.