Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Making a stout kit better  (Read 2020 times)

Offline brewmonk

• Assistant Brewer
  • Norcia, Italy
    • Birra Nursia
Making a stout kit better
« on: May 06, 2011, 07:35:36 am »
I have a few questions since I'm still new to homebrewing.
I wanted to do something rather easy this time (so easy I have to ask questions, right?  ::) ), and was just wanting to do a stout kit, but maybe taking it up another notch ("imperialize" it maybe?).  I was thinking of steeping some black patent malt and chocolate malt, maybe crystal too, for more body and complexity, as well as a bit of extra DME to bump the body and alcohol up a bit, and maybe get a better yeast than a standard kit packet of yeast.  (edit: when I mean stout kit, I mean a simple hopped-stout-extract-in-a-can kit with a packet of yeast)
So:
Which malt(s) and how much would be good to steep, since I hear you can easily go overboard with black patent malt?
And not wanting to waste a kit packet of yeast, could you use the kit packet of yeast AND add something like an American Ale yeast?  Or would mixing yeast do funny things?
Would I need to add extra hops if adding extra DME?
« Last Edit: May 06, 2011, 07:39:52 am by brewmonk »
Br. Francis
Birra Nursia

Offline Joe Sr.

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
  • Chicago - NORTH SIDE
Re: Making a stout kit better
« Reply #1 on: May 06, 2011, 08:40:44 am »
Not that this directly answers your questions, but if you're steeping the grains and adding extra DME and hops, why not just skip the pre-hopped can?  You're not saving any steps at this point by using the pre-hopped can and no one will be able to accurately tell you what's in it.

That said, and not having my recipes in front of me, I think I typically do the black patent and roast barley at around 1/4 lb for 5 gallons.  I wouldn't go over 1/2 lb of either.