Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Fermentation Temp QuestionsI p  (Read 5277 times)

Offline titusv

• 1st Kit
Fermentation Temp QuestionsI p
« on: May 13, 2011, 02:18:00 pm »
I'm new to brewing and I have a couple questions regarding fermentation temperature and yeast selection.

I have a electrical room in my basement that stays a constant 62-63 F year round and has no windows. I plan on fermenting in this room for the majority of the time. I have been looking at ale yeasts and I am finding that the majority of them have ideal temperatures of 65 to 70 F. Will having a slightly lower temperature cause problems?

I seem to have a constant temperature that is in between the ale and lager yeast requirements.

I think I'm over analyzing my first brew a little bit too much but I can't help myself.

Offline richardt

• Senior Brewmaster
Re: Fermentation Temp QuestionsI p
« Reply #1 on: May 13, 2011, 02:23:53 pm »
I think you will find that, for most ales, fermenting at 64 degrees is PERFECT!  It keeps the fusels down.  Some beers like belgians do well at warmer temps. 
Also keep in mind that, while your room is at 62-63 F (and your thermostat is measuring the ambient air, not your fermentor), your fermentor can easily be 5 degrees warmer than that due to metabolic activity from the yeast.  It also depends on whether or not you're using a plastic, glass, or stainless steel fermentor and whether there's a readily conductive heat sink (like putting your fermentor in a shallow tub of water to help wick away the extra heat.)

Offline dannyjed

• Senior Brewmaster
  • Toledo, OH
« Reply #2 on: May 13, 2011, 02:25:07 pm »
The temp in your electrical room will be fine for ales.  When fermentation begins it can heat up the fermenter a bit and can go up to as much as 8 degrees above the ambient temperature of the room.  
Dan Chisholm

Offline weithman5

• Senior Brewmaster
  • naperville, il