Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: How to classify a Black IPA for AHA competition?  (Read 11921 times)

Offline mxstar21

• Cellarman
How to classify a Black IPA for AHA competition?
« on: May 16, 2011, 03:46:50 am »
I am new to the AHA, but I use Beersmith when designing beers, and I try to fit the guidelines.  I know the Black IPA is new, but what category do you enter it in?  Thanks!

Offline gordonstrong

• Senior Brewmaster
    • BJCP
Re: How to classify a Black IPA for AHA competition?
« Reply #1 on: May 16, 2011, 04:48:23 am »
Category 23, Specialty Beer
Gordon Strong • Beavercreek, Ohio • AHA Member since 1997 • Twitter: GordonStrong

Offline beersk

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
  • In the night!
« Reply #2 on: May 16, 2011, 09:14:12 am »
I made my own category, American Black Ale. 
Jesse

Offline dmtaylor

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
  • Lord Idiot the Lazy
    • YEAST MASTER Perma-Living
« Reply #3 on: May 16, 2011, 08:33:16 pm »
It's usually either an American Stout or a Robust Porter.  Don't believe me?  Read the guidelines.  It should fit just fine into one or the other.
Dave

The world will become a much more pleasant place to live when each and every one of us realizes that we are all idiots.

Offline bluesman

• I must live here
  • Delaware
« Reply #4 on: May 16, 2011, 08:37:20 pm »
It's usually either an American Stout or a Robust Porter.  Don't believe me?  Read the guidelines.  It should fit just fine into one or the other.

I judged a comp over the weekend where I was judging an ABA that was entered in Cat 23 and I would have scored it fairly well in 13E. It took 1st in 23 as David Houseman and I gave it a nod in mini BOS.
« Last Edit: May 16, 2011, 09:31:48 pm by bluesman »
Ron Price

Offline hoser

• Brewmaster
« Reply #5 on: May 16, 2011, 08:55:11 pm »