Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Full-Flavored Belgian Wit.  (Read 3335 times)

Offline jaredkent

• 1st Kit
Full-Flavored Belgian Wit.
« on: May 20, 2011, 08:12:56 pm »
This is my first time posting here, also my first home brew. I'm planning on brewing up a Belgian Wit. I plan on going the all-grain route instead of extracts. I don't have a planned recipe yet but I'll be discussing with the owner of the local homebrew shop on recipes.

Just curious what you guys recommend for adjuncts to provide a nice flavorful Witbier, that takes it to the next level. Any methods or tips are more than welcome.

Offline jaredkent

• 1st Kit
Re: Full-Flavored Belgian Wit.
« Reply #1 on: May 21, 2011, 07:49:36 am »
Specifically I was looking at adding some Lemon Balm once I turned the flame off on my boil. I figured it would add a nice lemony flavor to compliment the bitter orange peel. Not sure how much to add though. I'll probably add it sparingly and taste it after 1st the first fermentation. If I feel it needs some more I'll look into "dry hopping" with it during a 2nd fermentation.

What do you guys think?

Offline tumarkin

• Brewmaster
« Reply #2 on: May 21, 2011, 08:10:09 am »
you've got the right idea in adding sparingly. you can add more, but you can't take it away. making a tincture in alcohol allows you to add slowly till you get the level you're after. lemon grass (used a lot in Thai cooking) is another option.
Mark Tumarkin
Hogtown Brewers
Gainesville, FL

Offline majorvices

• Global Moderator
  • I must live here
  • Polka. If its too loud you're too young.
« Reply #3 on: May 21, 2011, 08:13:28 am »