Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Wyeast 1728 Scottish Ale  (Read 19687 times)

Offline dannyjed

• Senior Brewmaster
  • Toledo, OH
Wyeast 1728 Scottish Ale
« on: May 29, 2011, 08:19:18 am »
I just picked some of this up and I was going to use it for a Scottish 70 and possibly for a IPA or IIPA.  I have never used this strain before and I was wondering if anyone could give me some idea of what to expect.  Any comments would be appreciated.
Dan Chisholm

Offline denny

• Administrator
  • Retired with too much time on my hands
  • Noti OR [1991.4, 287.6deg] AR
    • Dennybrew
Re: Wyeast 1728 Scottish Ale
« Reply #1 on: May 29, 2011, 09:43:22 am »
Clean yeast, works well at temps down to 50F.
Life begins at 60.....1.060, that is!

www.dennybrew.com

The best, sharpest, funniest, weirdest and most knowledgable minds in home brewing contribute on the AHA forum. - Alewyfe

"The whole problem with the world is that fools and fanatics are always so certain of themselves, and wiser people so full of doubts." - Bertrand Russell

Offline bonjour

• Senior Brewmaster
  • Troy, MI, 37mi, 60.9deg AR
« Reply #2 on: May 29, 2011, 10:27:32 am »
This yeast can throw a very nice low smoke phenolic,  Great for Scottish/Strong Scotch Ales.  Solid yeast, is otherwise clean,  I like it a lot.  As Denny said it performs well cool and can easily handle higher alcohols.

The hops in an IPA or IIPA will totally overpower any smoke so don't worry about that aspect.
Fred Bonjour
Co-Chair Mashing in Michigan 2014 AHA Conference in Grand Rapids, Michigan
AHA Governing Committee; AHA Conference, Club Support & Web Subcommittees

Everything under 1.100 is a 'session' beer ;)

Offline Thirsty_Monk

• Brewmaster General
  • Eau Claire WI
    • Lazy Monk Brewing
« Reply #3 on: May 29, 2011, 09:15:21 pm »
I also like this yeast.
Na Zdravie

Lazy Monk Brewing
http://www.lazymonkbrewing.com

Offline dannyjed

• Senior Brewmaster
  • Toledo, OH