Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Liquor in Airlock Leaked into Fermenter  (Read 4490 times)

Offline b-rad

• 1st Kit
Liquor in Airlock Leaked into Fermenter
« on: May 31, 2011, 10:49:44 am »
Hey all,
Brewed my first batch yesterday, an Amber ale kit from Midwest.  Lot's of fun & work but a couple concerns.  Primarily I'm concerned about liquor I used to fill the airlock leaking into the fermenter, about a tablespoon or a little less, anyone capable of commenting on this?

Thanks,
B-rad

Offline denny

• Administrator
  • Retired with too much time on my hands
  • Noti OR [1991.4, 287.6deg] AR
    • Dennybrew
Re: Liquor in Airlock Leaked into Fermenter
« Reply #1 on: May 31, 2011, 10:57:08 am »
Np problem whatsoever.  When I started brewing I used vodka in the airlocks.  When it ran out I switched to water with no ill effects.
Life begins at 60.....1.060, that is!

www.dennybrew.com

The best, sharpest, funniest, weirdest and most knowledgable minds in home brewing contribute on the AHA forum. - Alewyfe

"The whole problem with the world is that fools and fanatics are always so certain of themselves, and wiser people so full of doubts." - Bertrand Russell

Offline Mark G

• Brewmaster
  • Huntley, IL
« Reply #2 on: May 31, 2011, 10:58:22 am »
That small amount of liquor won't impact the flavor of your beer. I'm assuming you used vodka or something similar? And welcome to the forum!
Mark Gres

Offline b-rad

• 1st Kit
« Reply #3 on: May 31, 2011, 11:24:03 am »
Thanks for the replies! 
Yes, I used Bacardi Rum, nothing flavored, as i realized too late i had no vodka and/or ready sterile water.

Offline morticaixavier

• I must live here
  • Underhill VT
    • The Best Artist in the WORLD!!!!!
« Reply #4 on: May 31, 2011, 03:25:58 pm »
I just use some idophor. I save a little from my sanitation dance and replace it once in a while ussualy when checking gravity.
"Creativity is the residue of wasted time"
-A Einstein